Vale of White Horse District Council

SCHEME OF DELEGATION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL TO CABINET MEMBERS AND OFFICERS

Introduction

- 1. The Local Government Act 2000 provides that the leader may discharge any executive functions or may arrange for the discharge of any of those functions by the cabinet, by another member of the cabinet, by a committee of the cabinet or by an officer of the council.
- 2. This scheme of delegation to cabinet members and to officers is made pursuant to the Local Government Act 2000 and was approved by the leader of the council on 21 February 2024. This scheme replaces all previous schemes.
- 3. The scheme may be amended by the leader of the council at any time during the year. The scheme is subject to the general terms and conditions described below.

Terms and conditions

- 4. Any decision taken by a cabinet member under this scheme of delegation shall only be taken having regard to any advice from the head of service responsible for the relevant function associated with the decision.
- 5. Any decision which could attract to the council adverse legal consequences shall be taken after consultation with the monitoring officer.
- 6. Any decision which could attract adverse financial implications shall be taken after consultation with the chief finance (section 151) officer.
- 7. Where functions may be discharged by a cabinet member under this scheme of delegation the cabinet member may arrange for the discharge of any of those functions by an officer of the council.
- 8. Any cabinet member exercising any delegated powers under this scheme also has the power to do anything which is calculated to facilitate or is conducive or incidental to the exercise of such delegated powers.
- 9. Once a cabinet member has exercised any delegated power under this scheme, he or she shall make a record of the decision which shall include the views of any officer consulted on the issue. The record of the decision shall be forwarded by the cabinet member or officer immediately to democratic services.

Responsibility for executive functions

10. The following cabinet members are responsible and are delegated authority to take decisions in respect of the functions and projects set out below until they are amended or withdrawn by the leader in writing.

Councillor Bethia Thomas: Council Leader and climate action and the environment, strategic partnerships and place

Councillor Mark Coleman: Deputy Council Leader and environmental services and waste

Councillor Sue Caul: Affordable housing, infrastructure, development and governance

Councillor Andy Crawford: Finance and property Councillor Lucy Edwards: Communications Councillor Neil Fawcett: Economic development

Councillor Andy Foulsham: Corporate services, policy and programmes Councillor Diana Lugova: Planning and development management

Councillor Helen Pighills: Community health and wellbeing

- 11. I delegate authority to the chief executive to discharge all executive functions and to request any member of the cabinet to act on behalf of the leader in the leader's and deputy leader's absence.
- 12. I delegate authority to officers to discharge executive functions as set out in schedule 1 of the scheme of delegation in part 2 of the constitution.

Executive joint committee/partnership appointments

13. I appoint Cabinet members to the following:

The Future Oxfordshire Partnership – Councillor Bethia Thomas (substitute Councillor Neil Fawcett)

The Future Oxfordshire Partnership Housing Advisory Group – Councillor Sue Caul, with all other Cabinet members as substitutes

The Future Oxfordshire Partnership Environment Advisory Group – Councillor Bethia Thomas, with all other Cabinet members as substitutes

The Future Oxfordshire Partnership Infrastructure Advisory Group – Councillor Sue Caul, with all other Cabinet members as substitutes

The Future Oxfordshire Partnership Planning Advisory Group – Councillor Diana Lugova, with all other Cabinet members as substitutes

Oxfordshire Local Enterprise Partnership – Councillor Bethia Thomas

Five Councils' Partnership Corporate Services Joint Committee – Councillor Andy Foulsham and Councillor Bethia Thomas, with all other Cabinet members as substitutes

Safer Oxfordshire Partnership Oversight Committee – Councillor Helen Pighills South and Vale Community Safety Partnership – Councillor Helen Pighills

Oxfordshire Health and Wellbeing Board – Councillor Helen Pighills, Councillor Neil Fawcett as substitute

Health Improvement Partnership Board – Councillor Helen Pighills

Didcot Garden Town Advisory Board – Councillor Sue Caul and Councillor Bethia Thomas

Oxfordshire Inclusive Economy Partnership – Councillor Neil Fawcett

Scrap Metal Sub-Committee

14. I establish a Scrap Metal Sub-Committee (known as a Panel) comprising any three members of the Cabinet, to include the Cabinet member for climate action and environment if available, to consider contested applications and authorise the head

Councillor Bethia Thomas, Leader of Vale of White Horse District Council 21 February 2024

of legal and democratic to invite an appropriate panel to conduct a scheduled

hearing.